Don’t Panic

All I saw in front of me was angry traffic, and it was backed up for miles, so I got off the highway. I was late for work and late for work traffic. It’s not a situation for clear thinking.

I took to the side streets, but something felt off. I looked around. I wasn’t seeing the cityscape I’d anticipated seeing when I exited the highway. Cursing because I was late, and the street traffic wasn’t moving either. I couldn’t think.

She had a strange feeling in the pit of her stomach, like when you’re swimming and you want to put your feet down on something solid, but the water’s deeper than you think and there’s nothing there

Julia Gregson, East of the Sun

First, calming my mind was most important. Forget turning lemons into lemonade; I must turn my car into a therapist’s couch.

The second priority was finding guidance for my mind so I could stay safe in traffic. So, I pulled into a safe parking lot to calm down.

At this point, I decided it was okay to look stupid. And being late was equally fine. Safety and calm were priorities. My GPS app was the simplest thing that was helpful.

I used slow breathing to calm down, and slowly, I got enough mental ability to use my simple map to get me back on my way.

Hysteria is impossible without an audience. Panicking by yourself is the same as laughing alone in an empty room. You feel really silly.

Chuck Palahniuk, Invisible Monsters

Now is the time to learn skills and create tools for yourself. Know your weaknesses. Create helpful tools like writing addresses and phone numbers of important contacts. Plug them into your phone also. If you get angry in traffic, leave early or go less congested roads. Try different things. Be calm.


many thanks to @photos.by.wade on Instagram for the photo.

Freeze Framing. Like a deer looking into the headlights, frozen.

Freeze Framing

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.